It snowed. I ran.

Therefore I am.

firstsnowrunof2016

It’s kind of an unwritten rule that when it snows for the first time in the season then you HAVE to go for a run or a walk in it. I had a bit of a lie-in so I wasn’t anywhere close to the first one out in it but there was still enough of the white fluffy stuff out to satisfy the kid in me.

snowselfie2

Silly snow run selfie

Essential kit for today was the buff to keep my ears warm, sunglasses to reduce the glare of the snow plus protect my eyes from the wind, and yaktrax to keep me from slipping about too terribly much.

yaktrax2016

The Yaktrax I have are on the older side and will need replacing soon but they are absolutely brilliant for keeping you stable in the snow. There is a newer version available that are a mix of the coils and spikes for both snow and ice (mine are coils only so not so good on the icy stuff) and I may invest in those next time around.  Whichever version you go for be sure to get the ones with the velcro strap across the top of the foot otherwise they will come off in the deeper snow or in mud.

yaktraxtracks

So did you get out for a run in the snow this morning? What are your snowy run essentials?

Leave a Reply

