A New Year and Old Goals

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year to all! Hope everyone had an awesome celebration–my NYE consisted of sneezing, snot, and sleeping–I was in bed by 9 pm last night with the cold that refuses to go away. Oh well, it meant a hangover free morning!

Of course since it’s the first day of 2016 it means it is time for a recap of last year’s achievements and goals.

What was good: a 5k UK personal best of 22:42, a half marathon pb, and a by the skin of my teeth marathon pb. I also had a mostly fantastic year of running, the Morton’s Neuroma didn’t give me near as much trouble as in years past and I also managed to get through marathon training without an injury (ultra training was an entirely different story).

The not so good: Despite the marathon being a personal best it was not the time I’d hoped for thanks to an irritating case of bronchitis. 2015 also marked another year that I didn’t get to complete an ultra-marathon–I’m starting to wonder if it’s ever going to happen! Of course the fractured 5th metatarsal in mid-October brought an awesome year of training to a screeching halt.

This year’s goals:  the elusive ultra! To not break any bones or sprain ankles would also be quite nice 🙂 I also want to get back to being able to do at least 25 regular press-ups without it being a struggle. Most important of all, to enjoy the training!  Yes, my new goals look a lot like my old goals.

Stats for the year: 1,584 miles ran, 102 miles cycled (this figure should be more, I have a few rides that I forgot to use the garmin on), and 344 miles of walking and Nordic Walking (again another figure that is out of sync because of forgetting the garmin). Overall not bad considering I was out for almost two months with the fracture.

2015 was seen out with 3.1 miles and 2016 was seen in with a 50 minute run (5.73 miles). I even managed to get a sub 8 minute mile on today’s outing–we will just ignore that it was mostly downhill and I thought I was going to drown in snot before it was over with.

 

Leave a Reply

